​When there are times when I wonder why the world has become such a scary place, I withdraw myself from it, put headphones in my ears and listen to music.

I give life a new soundtrack, and take in that world with my other senses. I see it through my own eye, and take in its vibrant colours which constantly change with the weather and light. 

I take in the different scents, and the feel of the warm sun on my face, or the wind, or even the cold droplets of rain that fall from the clouds.  

Life is an interesting concept, something we are brought into without true thought… We are influenced by so many different things,  but it is our choice to learn about life,  to make our own decisions, and be a person we truly aspire to be. 

A lot of people follow,  some feel they won’t fit in if they don’t. There is no right or wrong way to be if you’re yourself.

I’ve come to realise that there are people who will take the time to get to know me,  and others who will judge me by first glance. 

I’ve learnt that if you judge a book by its cover, you can miss so much. I would always take the time to read a few pages first before I decide.

I know that life can be short,  but I hope to live mine in the best way I can, I try not to let my anxiety overtake me. I strive to better myself with every day that passes, to express myself through art and writing. 

To be able to give people who are unable to express themselves a voice through their words,  or art, for me this is my way of giving back…  Giving them a chance to not lock those feelings inside…

To fight the stigma,  and create a world where mental ill health isn’t ignored.

The world can be a scary place, let’s make it a better place… One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

